Presentation of the vineyard


ONCE UPON A TIME...

… the story of a renaissance, of a vineyard rescued from oblivion by a group of Rhone valley winemakers in search of great terroirs. At the end of the 1990s, when they discovered the remains of this jewel overrun by brambles north of Vienne, on the left bank of the Rhone, they had no hesitation in bringing the vineyard back to life. The Vitis Vienna vineyard lies 30 km south of Lyon, in the environs of Vienne, Seyussuel and Chasse-sur-Rhône. As in the northern Rhone valley, the winemakers here plant Syrah for red wines and Viognier for white, two grape varieties that originated in the region and where they express all their aromatic potential.
presentation2-1516


THE LEGACY OF A WINE CULTURE

The origins of the Vitis Vienna vineyard date from the Roman era. Vienne was then the capital of the Allobroges and was producing wines that were already renowned beyond the borders. The region’s wines were praised by a number of authors of Antiquity, including Plutarch, Pliny the Elder, Martial, Columella and Celsus, illustrating their real historic roots. In the 19th century, the grapevines covered some hundred hectares in Seyssuel. At the time, the vineyard was “the town’s main source of revenue” (municipal register, 1883). Although the vineyard was later devastated by phylloxera, it has now been reborn thanks to a group of winemakers who, with hard work and passion, have revived it and are today producing wines of a very high quality.
presentation1-1515


THE CHALLENGE OF THE SLOPES

This breathtaking wine-making landscape overlooks the left bank of the Rhone. The vines grow on the hills, facing south / south-west, following the bend of the river. This is the most northerly of the region’s vineyards and yet the weather is warm, and even very hot – as shown by the specific vegetation of the area. Here the Rhone valley is very narrow, which promotes the best possible supply of air to the vines. In this highly specific climate, remarkable plant and animal life develop, which the winemakers strive to preserve. They do everything to produce a high-quality wine: land selection, low yield, work by hand in the vineyards, choice of grape, long fermentation and maturation… The unique character of the wines results from the specific local conditions together with the commitment and passion of the winemakers.
sam-4992-1518


THE WINEMAKERS AND THEIR WINES

  • Hervé Avallet : Sole Occidente - Pulchra Terra
  • Christophe Billon : La Batie
  • M. Chapoutier et Lucidi : Ludicus (rouge) - Lucidus (blanc)
  • Yves Cuilleron : Ripa Sinistra
  • Pierre Gaillard : Asiaticus
  • Stéphane Ogier : Ame soeur
  • Maison A. Paret : Sublinae - Serinae
  • Julien Pilon : Frontière
  • Les Serines d'Or : EncOr - Serines d'Or
  • Les Vignobles de Seyssuel : Sixtus (rouge) - Sixtus (blanc) - Saxeolum
  • Pierre-Jean Villa : Esprit d'Antan
  • François Villard : Seul en Scène
  • Les Vins de Vienne : Heluicum - Sotanum - Taburnum
sam-4878-1517

Présentation du vignoble


IL ETAIT UNE FOIS …

… l’histoire d’une renaissance, celle d’un vignoble arraché de l’oubli par une tribu de vignerons de la vallée du Rhône, dénicheurs de grands terroirs. Quand, à la fin des années 90, ils découvrent au nord de Vienne les vestiges de cette pépite enfouie sous les ronces, ils n’hésitent pas une seconde à s’implanter sur la rive gauche du Rhône pour la ressusciter. Le vignoble de Vitis Vienna se situe à moins de 30 km au sud de Lyon, sur les communes de Vienne, Seyssuel et Chasse-sur-Rhône. Comme dans la vallée du Rhône nord, les vignerons plantent de la Syrah pour les vins rouges et du Viognier pour les vins blancs, deux cépages originaires de cette région et qui expriment ici tout leur potentiel aromatique.
presentation2-1516


UN TERROIR EN HERITAGE

L’origine du vignoble Vitis Vienna remonte à l’époque romaine. Vienne est alors la capitale des allobroges et produit des vins dont la réputation dépasse déjà ses frontières. Les vins de ces contrées sont loués par plusieurs auteurs antiques : Plutarque, Pline l’ancien, Martial, Columelle, Celse, attestant ainsi d’un réel ancrage historique. Au XIXe siècle, les vignes représentent une superficie d’une centaine d’hectares à Seyssuel. Ce vignoble est à cette période « la source principale des revenus de la commune » (registre municipal, 1883). S’il fut ensuite ravagé par le phylloxera, il doit sa renaissance à un groupe de vignerons qui, par leur travail et leur passion, l’ont reconstruit et produisent depuis des vins de très grande qualité.
presentation1-1515


LA PENTE EN DEFI

Le paysage viticole à couper le souffle surplombe le Rhône sur sa rive gauche. Les vignes sont en coteaux, exposées sud / sud-ouest, épousant la courbe du fleuve. C’est le plus septentrional des vignobles de la région et pourtant, il y fait chaud, très chaud même : pour preuve la végétation spécifique de ce terroir. La vallée du Rhône est à cet endroit très étroite, ce qui favorise une aération optimale pour les vignes. Dans ce climat très particulier se développent une faune et une flore remarquables, que les vignerons s’attachent à préserver. Ceux-ci mettent tout en œuvre pour produire du vin de qualité : choix des parcelles, faible rendement, travail manuel dans les vignes, sélection du raisin, cuvaison et élevage longs, … La typicité des vins résulte ainsi de ce terroir d’exception conjugué à l’implication et la passion des vignerons.
sam-4992-1518


LES VIGNERONS ET LEURS VINS

 
  • Hervé Avallet : Sole Occidente - Pulchra Terra
  • Christophe Billon : La Batie
  • M. Chapoutier et Lucidi : Ludicus (rouge) - Lucidus (blanc)
  • Yves Cuilleron : Ripa Sinistra
  • Pierre Gaillard : Asiaticus
  • Stéphane Ogier : Ame soeur
  • Maison A. Paret : Sublinae - Serinae
  • Julien Pilon : Frontière
  • Les Serines d'Or : EncOr - Serines d'Or
  • Les Vignobles de Seyssuel : Sixtus (rouge) - Sixtus (blanc) - Saxeolum
  • Pierre-Jean Villa : Esprit d'Antan
  • François Villard : Seul en Scène
  • Les Vins de Vienne : Heluicum - Sotanum - Taburnum
sam-4878-1517