Yves Cuilleron

“I am one of the three winemakers who was there at the beginning of the adventure. It was very important for me to revive a vineyard that had disappeared.”

I’ve always loved fine foods and drink. Wine has been part of my family history for three generations. It was not planned for me to take over the estate, but my passion for wine brought me back to my winemaking roots and in 1987, I took over the family estate. Passion without high standards is not enough. So I wanted to understand and keep control of everything. So that my wines should be “100 % home-made”, I rejected ready-made ideas and I also refused to copy other people. I have always followed each step in the production, from the vine stock to bottling. This concern for high standards has also led me to think constantly about my working tools.
With my two winemaking friends, I helped bring about the renaissance of the Seyssuel vineyards, and I have been making the Ripa Sinistra wine on these hills for several years.

The vintages

RIPA SINISTRA

 Origin: vines from the Seyssuel hills north of Vienne on the left bank. This is a very old vineyard that was planted by the Romans, but disappeared at the end of the 19th century, before being replanted in 1996. “Ripa Sinistra” means Left Bank in Latin.

• The Vineyards
Grape variety: 100% Syrah.
Terroir: Seyssuel, quartzite schist.

Viticulture: vines planted in high density, 8,000 - 10,000 vine stocks per hectare. Without insecticides or pesticides, the number of treatments is restricted in line with the weather,the amount of fertiliser we add is low and exclusively organic, and we respect the balance of the soils and the plant. Control of the plants’ vigour and yields, removal of leaves, and green harvest for greater maturity of the grapes.

• In the Cellar
Vinifiation: the grapes are harvested by hand. In the cellar, selection, pressing and partial removal of stalks. Fermentation of skins in open vats for about three weeks with regular monitoring of temperature, foot-treading and pumping over. Malolactic fermentation in barrels, with natural yeasts.
Maturing: 18 months in barrels.

 

Informations :
 

- Groups welcome by appointment
- Languages spoken: French and English
- Parking available
- Cellar visit and wine-tastings possible

Yves Cuilleron
Verlieu
58 RD 1086
42410 Chavanay

Tél. : +33 (0)4 74 87 02 37
Fax : +33 (0)4 74 87 05 62
  • cuilleron01big-1438
  • cuilleron08med-1439
  • cuilleron31big-1443
  • cuilleron32big-1444

Yves Cuilleron

« Je suis l’un des trois vignerons à avoir fait partie du début de l’aventure. Il était très important pour moi de remettre en culture un vignoble disparu. »

Depuis toujours, j’aime la dégustation et la gastronomie. Le vin fait partie de mon histoire familiale depuis trois générations. Le domaine ne m’était pas destiné mais la passion m’a ramené à mes racines de vigneron et en 1987, j’ai repris le domaine familial. La passion sans exigence ne suffit pas. J’ai donc voulu tout comprendre et tout maîtriser. Pour que mes vins soient « 100 % maison », j’ai refusé le prêt-à-penser et j’ai refusé aussi de copier les autres. Depuis toujours, je suis personnellement chaque étape de la production, du ceps de vigne à la mise en bouteille. Ce souci d’exigence m’a poussé aussi à réfléchir constamment à mon outil de travail.
Initiateur de la renaissance du vignoble de Seyssuel avec mes deux amis vignerons, je produis depuis quelques années la cuvée Ripa Sinistra sur ces coteaux.

Les cuvées

RIPA SINISTRA

Origine : vigne issue du coteau de Seyssuel au nord de Vienne sur la rive gauche. Très vieux vignoble planté par les romains qui disparut fin 19ème siècle et qui fut replanté en 1996. « Ripa Sinistra » signifie Rive Gauche en Latin.

• Les Vignes
Cépage : 100% Syrah.
Terroir : Seyssuel, schistes quartziteux.
Viticulture : vignes plantées en haute densité, 8000 /10000 pieds à l’hectare. Sans insecticide ni pesticide, le nombre de traitements est restreint en fonction de la météo, l’apport d’engrais très faible est exclusivement organique, respect de l’équilibre des sols et de la plante. Maîtrise de la vigueur et des rendements, effeuillage, vendanges en vert pour une meilleure maturation des raisins.
• En Cave
Vinification : les raisins sont vendangés manuellement. À la cave, tri, foulage et égrappage partiel. Cuvaisons en cuves ouvertes de 3 semaines environ avec contrôle des températures, pigeages et remontages réguliers. Fermentation malolactique en barriques, avec les levures naturelles.
Élevage : 18 mois en barriques.

 

Infos pratiques :

- Accueil groupe sur RDV
- Langues parlées : français et anglais
- Parking disponible
- Visite de cave et dégustation possible
- Horaires d'ouverture caveau : Du lundi au samedi de 9h à 12h et de 14h à 17h30 (Fermeture les dimanches, les jours fériés et en aout).

Yves Cuilleron
Verlieu
58 RD 1086
42410 Chavanay

Tél. : +33 (0)4 74 87 02 37
Fax : +33 (0)4 74 87 05 62

www.cuilleron.com
  • cuilleron01big-1438
  • cuilleron08med-1439
  • cuilleron31big-1443
  • cuilleron32big-1444